Time Dilation: Explaining the Basics for a Sci-Fi Story

In summary, when a person travels near the speed of light, they see events on Earth slow down for them.
CakeOrDeath?
Hi all.

I'm working on writing a sci-fi story and I'm really just getting into researching relativity and time dilation. I'm a layman, but the ideas excite me, so I'm trying to figure these things out the best I can.

Here is my hypothetical: Say someone were to have a vehicle that could travel the speed of light, and on the front of it, a video camera was affixed to relay the image to a television set in real time. The man in the light speed vehicle travels such a distance that he returns to find everyone 20 years older, while he has barely aged. 1) What do the observers watching the television see once the craft is traveling at light speed? Do they see exactly what the man in the vehicle is seeing? 2) Would the image keep going for all 20 years, and as these people aged they could keep watching the image of lightspeed travel?

Obviously, the scenario is ignoring the time it would take for the television image to be broadcast to the television. That would make things much more complicated. I think I know the answer to this question, but I want to run it by the people who know a thing or two.

Please explain in the simplest possible manner! Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, CakeOrDeath,

Welcome to Physics Forums!

Relativity says you can't travel at the speed of light, so relativity doesn't have an answer to your question.

-Ben

But this is just a hypothetical. Besides, doesn't dilation occur at all high speeds? Even if you went half the speed of light, dilation would still occur, would it not?

CakeOrDeath? said:
But this is just a hypothetical. Besides, doesn't dilation occur at all high speeds? Even if you went half the speed of light, dilation would still occur, would it not?