Time development of a Gaussian integral help

In summary, the author is trying to set up an integration for Gaussian noise, but is having trouble with a term related to group velocity. He has substituted k' = k - k(0), factored out all exponentials with no k' dependence, and grouped the remaining exponentials with a k' dependence with their respective orders, but is still having trouble with the V(group) term. He has found that by multiplying the integrand by k', the term related to group velocity can be eliminated. Finally, he has solved for the noise term by multiplying it by e^-iω(0).
Don'tKnowMuch
Here is a link to a course which i am studying,

http://quantummechanics.ucsd.edu/ph130a/130_notes/node89.html#derive:timegauss

My problem comes from the k' term attached to Vsub(g) (group velocity). I used the substitution k' = k - k(0), factored out all exponentials with no k' dependence, as well grouped the remaining exponentials with a k' dependence with their respective orders. The trouble comes from the term in the second ψ(x,t) integral in the middle of the linked page; i cannot get the k' term on the group velocity*time term in the exponential to disappear. I thought i was being cautious. Any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
When performing a Gaussian integration, the linear term is always removed by completing the square, which allows you to shift the integration variable, and turn the integrand into a pure quadratic term.

Are you familiar with how to do this? If not, check the previous page in the link you provided--they go over how to do it. If so, though, then perhaps I've misunderstood your question, in which case it might be helpful if you can provide a little more detail on where you're getting hung up.