Time averages for a 2-dimensional harmonic oscillator

In summary, the conversation discusses studying Ergodic Theory and the need for an example to verify the concept. The example given is the simplest possible 2D classical harmonic oscillator with kinetic and potential energy equations. The time averages of these quantities are found to be similar to the one-dimensional case. The solution for the equations of motion is suggested to be written down and integrals calculated to find the time averages.
Lo Scrondo
I'm studying Ergodic Theory and I think I "got" the concept, but I need an example to verify it...

Let's take the simplest possible 2D classical harmonic oscillator whose kinetic energy is $$T=\frac{\dot x^2}{2}+\frac{\dot y^2}{2}$$ and potential energy is $$U=\frac{ x^2}{2}+\frac{y^2}{2}$$.

I'd like to find the time averages of the two quantities. My intuition is that they arent't qualitatively different from the one-dimensional case, but I'd really welcome some help

Physics news on Phys.org
You'll find that the oscillator has harmonic solutions and then the time average is
$$\langle U \rangle=\frac{1}{T} \int_0^T \mathrm{d} t \frac{1}{2} (x^2+y^2),$$
where ##T## is the period of the harmonic motion, and analogously for the kinetic energy.

So just write down the general solution of your equations of motion and calculate the integrals. It's not too difficult.

Related to Time averages for a 2-dimensional harmonic oscillator

1. What is a 2-dimensional harmonic oscillator?

A 2-dimensional harmonic oscillator is a physical system that exhibits periodic motion in two dimensions, similar to a pendulum swinging back and forth. It is often used as a model to study the behavior of more complex systems in physics and engineering.

2. How is time average calculated for a 2-dimensional harmonic oscillator?