Ti-84 Plus CE or Ti-Nspire CX: Which Calculator Should I Choose for College?

• Calculators
  • Thread starter Jack-Frost
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ti-84
In summary, the TI-Nspire is more user friendly if you are technologically inclined. It allows you to input the math just as you see it on your paper. It's more advanced technology than the TI-84 plus. The TI-Nspire CX comes in either a CAS (Computer Algebra System) or Non-CAS. The CAS may not be allowed in some mathematics courses, but it just depends on the teacher and syllabi. For instance, the TI-Nspire CAS is allowed on the PSAT but not on the ACT. It can perform symbolic manipulation, which is very handy.
Jack-Frost
I'm a college student and my old ti-84 plus silver edition just broke. I'm looking to get a new one that'll take me through discrete math, and advanced calculus classes. I'd like to get either the Ti-84 plus CE or the Ti-Nspire CX but I'm not sure of all the differences between them since it isn't really clear and I was hoping someone could help clarify this for me as well as give their opinion as to which one I should get.

Thanks!

Computer science news on Phys.org
The TI-Nspire is more user friendly if you are technologically inclined. It allows you to input the math just as you see it on your paper. It's more advanced technology than the TI-84 plus. The TI-Nspire CX comes in either a CAS (Computer Algebra System) or Non-CAS. The CAS may not be allowed in some mathematics courses, but it just depends on the teacher and syllabi. For instance, the TI-Nspire CAS is allowed on the PSAT but not on the ACT. It can perform symbolic manipulation, which is very handy. In my opinion, if used in the right way, the TI-Nspire CAS is very nice software indeed. The thing is that you have to be able to do the mathematics without a symbolic CAS. My recommendation would be the TI-Nspire CX or CX CAS but I forewarn you that you may not be able to use the CAS version in all of your classes.

Likes nrqed