Thought experiment on buoyant forces on a system

In summary, the conversation discusses a thought experiment involving a two-compartment system with one compartment filled with He gas and the other with atmospheric gas. The system has a small valve and collapsible walls, and the buoyancy force is affected by changes in the volume and weight of the system. The discussion also addresses potential errors in the thought experiment and the impact of pressure differentials on the calculations. Ultimately, the goal is to achieve oscillation in buoyancy without altering the system's components.
y2jayy
I'm a former physics student and I've been thinking about an interesting problem that eventually led me to the following thought experiment that I'm having trouble resolving.

Imagine a two-compartment system, where one compartment is filled with He gas, and the other is filled with standard atmospheric gas. Both compartments have the same volume, both are cubes, and the heights of both compartments are small enough so that changes in g are negligible between the top and bottom.

The second compartment with the atmospheric gas has

(1) a tiny valve that can be opened and closed located on the face (recall the compartment is cubic) farthest away from the other compartment containing the He gas

Also,
(2) the walls of the second compartment can be fully folded in and collapsed (and attached to the first compartment containing the He gas) so that the total volume of the system in its collapsed/folded state is only non-negligibly greater than the volume of just the first compartment filled with the He gas.

Initially, the (1) valve is closed, and (2) the walls are not collapsed/folded in, and the relative ratio of He to atmospheric gas is such that the system begins to rise because the buoyant force exceeds the weight of the system.

Let's consider two scenarios.