Thesis Topic Ideas for Mechanical Engineering Students

In summary, a mechanical engineering student is seeking help with finding a topic for their thesis. They are interested in creating a machine that benefits the environment and are considering a water treatment apparatus for residential areas. They are also encouraged to explore different industries and crops to identify problems with current equipment and potential solutions. Additionally, they could consider using local waste products for processing and recycling, and exploring the mechanical engineering challenges associated with that.
gracepentinio
Greetings!

I am a Mechanical Engineering student and I am on my last year in this course. I am currently working on my thesis and beginning with a topic is really hard. I hope anyone from this forum might help me have a good thesis idea that will give me a head-start. I will really appreciate any help that you will give me. Thank you so much!

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
What is your preferred area of ME ?
What interests do you have outside ME that could benefit from ME ?
Can you “build a bridge” between those two fields ?

Hi. thank you for your reply.
Actually, I am really interested on creating a machine that would benefit the environment/nature,
like a machine that will create alternative fuels, etc. But lots of machines were already existing.
I am thinking, maybe, I could create a water treatment apparatus for residential areas. But, I am still kind of second guessing if it's going to be effective.

Evaluate your water treatment idea. Ask around to find out what is available now.

Maybe you know about a local industry, or agriculture, that uses machinery. If several manufacturers make the machinery, can you analyse the best features of each? How could that machinery be optimised to reduce environmental and economic costs, or improve safety.