Thermodyamics, total differentials and integration.

In summary, the UK graduate student is looking for help from physicists with a problem that involves thermodynamics and acoustic engineering. The problem is that the student cannot find an equation of state for an acoustic medium to solve for the entropy. The book the student is using does not explicitly mention equations of state, so the student is looking for a more rigorous approach. Presumably, integrating the equations of state for the thermal expansion, heat capacity, and electric polarization would provide the solution.
stephen_E
Hi everyone! I am a UK grad student working in acoustics. My own background is in EE, so i am largely self taught in thermodynamics. Consequently id really appreciate any insight any of you real physicists can give me with my problem!

Following derivations in books i can derive the enthalpy, H_{A}, of an acoustic medium to be as follows (S is strain, T is stress, D and E are electric filed and electric displacement,B and H are magnetic field, [tex] \theta [/tex] is temperature and [tex] \sigma [/tex] is entropy. Furthermore, the problem is assumed to be adiabatic.

[tex]H_{A} &= U -(ST)-(ED)-(BH)[/tex]
(where [tex]dU = dW + dQ = T_{i}dS_{i} + E_{i}dD_{i} + H_{i}dB_{i} + \theta d\sigma[/tex]), therefore:
[tex]dH_{A} &= - S_{i}dT_{i} - D_{m}dE_{m} - B_{m}dH_{m} + \theta d\sigma [/tex]

so:
[tex]S_{i}=\frac{-\partial{H_{A}}}{\partial{T_{i}}}[/tex]
etc etc for the other non infinitesimal quantities etc.

My problem comes when I expand Si and the other non-state variables from dH_A individually into total differentials ie

[tex] dS_{i} &=(\frac{\partial{S_{i}}}{\partial{T_{i}}})_{E,H,\sigma}dT_{i} + (\frac{\partial{S_{i}}}{\partial{E_{m}}})_{H,\sigma}dE_{m} + (\frac{\partial{S_{i}}}{\partial{H_{m}}})_{H,E}dH_{m} + (\frac{\partial{S_{i}}}{\partial{\sigma}})_{H,E}d\sigma [/tex]