There is an 8x8x8 room on the moon

• Thread starter njin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Moon
In summary: If it is not, then the fridge is effectively sucking heat out of the room, and therefore the temperature will be higher.
njin
I was asked the following question by a friend and don't know how to help him, or where to even start. I'll admit, I'm a lawyer and its been several years since I've taken a physics class. If anyone can help I'd appreciate it.

There is an 8x8x8 room on the moon; in the room is a refrigerator that is plugged in but I'm not told if it is working or not. However, I presume it is working since there is a 60 watt light bulb in it that is on. There is no air in the room; it is like a vacuum. I was asked to figure out what the temperature of the room is and to figure out as the bulb stays on whether the temp of the room increases or decreases.

Thanks for the help.

Physics news on Phys.org
I cannot answer your first question, but I believe that heat fluxuation is defined by the accumulative motion or non-motion of particles in the room - therefore I am pretty sure that the area surrounding the lightbulb is subject to the light's acceleration of particles. So, I would think that the temperature would increase, if the light bulb was able to heat in the first place, considering the moon is relatively much colder than the heat necessary to glow a fuse.

*waits for physics professor to beat him mercilessly

What exactly is the point of attempting to cool a vacuum again? Or, in other words, what exactly is the temperature of a vacuum?

cookiemonster

In another recent thread it was discussed how the space shuttle opens the bay doors while in orbit to allow the heat from the electronics to radiate out of the craft to avoid heat buildup.

In this case the bulb would heat the refridgerator walls, and after that heat makes it way past the insulation...

Cliff