The Road to Theoretical Physics: Education & Career Goals

In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's interest in studying Theoretical Physics and their current academic background in Systems Engineering. They are looking for recommendations for colleges and universities that offer courses in M-Theory, String Theory, and Quantum Computing. The conversation also mentions the possibility of pursuing a master's and PhD in Theoretical Physics after completing their undergraduate degree. Advice is given to take courses in real and complex analysis and to major in physics to pursue a career in physics.
M-Theory
Hello, since I was a kid I was always interested with the complexity of our universe and the past years I have been more interested into it. I am currently studying Systems Engineering and I am a professor assistant since my 2nd semester. Math is not a problem for me and to be honest I love it. This year I have been feeling the urge to study Theoretical Physics and become a researcher/professor during the course of the years. I was wondering what kind of college degree do I need to get into a Theoretical Physics program and also what College/Universities do you guys recommend? My biggest interests are obviously the M-Theory, String Theory and also Quantum Computing. I am willing to spend as many years as needed to be able to get into any of this fields on a University.

Physics news on Phys.org
Go into Physics.

I recommend courses in real and complex analysis. Apart from that, take the usual physics courses that your uni/college has to offer - E&M, classical, and quantum mechanics.

Want to do physics? Then major in physics. It's as easy as that.

Well, I want to finish Systems Engineering first, but in a talk with my aunt she told me that I could take a masters in Physics and take a phD in Theoretical Physics on a specific branch. Is this possible?

Why do you ask us for advice if you don't want to take it?