The relative resistance of a filament vs. a conductor

In summary, the conversation is about the resistance of a light bulb filament compared to other conductors in a circuit. The person is trying to understand why tungsten, which is classified as a resistor, has a higher resistance than other conductors. They also mention that materials with lower resistance give off more light and that conductors have low resistance because electrons can move through them freely. The conversation also includes a suggestion to do an experiment with a flashlight bulb, batteries, and a multimeter to see how the resistance changes as the filament glows brighter. The expert also clarifies that the filament in a light bulb is just a conductor with special properties that allow it to carry enough current without burning out quickly.
erandall
1. I'm a middle school science teacher with no science background, and I'm trying to avoid teaching any misconceptions on this topic! However, I don't know that I grasp what's going on here myself. I'm trying to explain rationale for why, on a circuit diagram, the symbol for a resistor may sometimes also indicate a load.

My question is: would a light bulb filament have a lower resistance than any conductors in a circuit? Or would it be greater?

Here's what I think I know so far:

-Materials with lower resistance give off more light because electrons move through these materials more freely and the kinetic energy of their motion is transformed into thermal energy.

-Conductors have low resistance than other materials because they allow electrons to move through them freely.