Which Michio Book to Start Out With?

• Thread starter ndogg
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Book
In summary: These books are great for readers who are not yet familiar with advanced physics concepts. They explain complex ideas in a simple and easy to understand way. Other books that may interest you are The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene and The Story of Light by Ben Bova. These books also cover fascinating topics in physics and are easy to follow.
ndogg
I am very new to the world of physics. And have recently become more and more interested in it as I have seen the tv appearances of Dr. Michio Kaku. Well, I was wondering, which one of his books will teach you a lot of not-so-advanced stuff about physics. His latest book on Einstein (Einstein's Cosmos I think it's called) sounds interesting, but too advanced. I'd like to learn just some theories (string theory?) and stuff. If you could post some of your favorite books by him, but would also be easy to read to the semi-physics illiterate person could you please post it here.

ndogg

Physics news on Phys.org
Given your interests I would suggest Hyperspace. It contains his own adventures with supergravity, string theory, and string field theory, with simple explanations of what goes on in them. It is simpler to understand than Greene's Elegant Universe, and might be a good preparation for reading that book, which goes into some detail about string theory.

Thanks, I will check that book out. To me, the concept of string theory sounds very interesting, but what do I know...