Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Number Theory The little theorem and its implication of coprimality.

bamuelsanks

Apr 2, 2012
Hi guys.

I'm rather new to number theory, and as part of an assignment I have been learning about various different primality tests.
One of these tests is the Lucas primality test.
As part of the reasoning behind the test, wikipedia states:
"If [$a^{n-1} \equiv 1 \textrm{ (mod }n\textrm{)}$] holds for a, we can deduce that a and n are coprime".
Would anybody be able to help me understand why this is true?

Thanks,
SB

chisigma

Feb 13, 2012
A theorem due to Leonhard Euler...

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/EulersTotientTheorem.html

... establishes that for all a coprime to n is...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi (n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)

... where $\varphi(n)$ is the 'Euler's Totiens Function'. Now if n is prime is $\displaystyle \varphi(n)=n-1$...

Kind regards

$\chi$ $\sigma$

Alexmahone

Jan 26, 2012
A theorem due to Leonhard Euler...

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/EulersTotientTheorem.html

... establishes that for all a coprime to n is...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi (n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)

... where $\varphi(n)$ is the 'Euler's Totiens Function'. Now if n is prime is $\displaystyle \varphi(n)=n-1$...

Kind regards

$\chi$ $\sigma$
That is the converse of what the OP is trying to prove. Secondly, the OP does not say that $n$ is prime.

Last edited:

chisigma

Feb 13, 2012
What is written by Alexmahone is true. The converse of the Euler's totient theorem established that if...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi(n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)

... then a and n are coprime. The important point however is that the identity $\displaystyle \varphi(n)=n-1$ holds only for n prime...

Kind regards

$\chi$ $\sigma$

Alexmahone

Jan 26, 2012
What is written by Alexmahone is true. The converse of the Euler's totient theorem established that if...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi(n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)