The difference between fusion and fission?

In summary, fusion reactions typically involve only two atoms and cannot be combined to make them more practical. The amount of U-235 used in fission reactions can vary, and the yields of fusion and fission differ due to the energy per nucleon being greater in fusion. In fission reactions, the mass difference between the original nucleus and the resulting particles is converted into heat and radiation, leading to the release of a large amount of energy.
RADboy
i'm new to nuclear power and i wanted to know some things ANY help/ insight would be appreciated. I am still in high school and I am just interested in nuclear power
1. does fusion always involve just 2 atoms? i know that fusion and fission both require huge amounts of energy so, is there no way to "bundle" fusion reactions togther to make them more practical?
2. how much U-235 is used in a fission reaction on average?
3. someone asked me to compare the yields of fusion and fission... any explanations?
4.i found this on the web "For fission of U or P, energies released are around 200 MeV or so. The energy per event is greater (in these examples) in fission, but the energy per nucleon (fusion = about 7 MeV/nucleon, fission = about 1 Mev/nucleon) is much greater in fusion." is this always the case? even when fission reaction are done in large quantities are they always less than fusion reactions(per nucleon)?

Physics news on Phys.org
1. There might probably be fusion cases where more than 2 atoms are involved, but for calculation purposes, it wouldn't matter. Input/output of the overall would still be the same.

2. You can use any amount. Fission of U-235 is self-propagating, all you'll need is the initial bombarding neutron.

3. Because the energy you can get per mass of initial is different, and one produces more than the other. Fusion is more efficient, by the way.