The charge interaction as a force

In summary, you are asking why charge interaction is a force, but you are incorrect in your assumptions about what the equation F=MA means. The equation simply states that the force between two charges is proportional to the product of their masses and the square of the electric field strength.
Mr Wolf
I think this thing came to my mind some times after I studied Electromagnetism when I studied Physics; otherwise, I would have asked it to my professor. (Incidentally, I'm still studying and I'm involved in Electromagnetism, but for a totally different course :wideeyed:)

We know from Coulomb's Law that, if we have two charges, they attract or repel each other and the result is a force: (sorry, but writing formulas, even simple, is a pain in the... :rolleyes:)

F=(k*q1*q2)/r²

While Newton's Second Law of Dynamics states that:

F=m*a

If we compare the members of the equations (sorry, I don't know if it's the right way to say that), we have:

a=(k*q1*q2)/(m*r²)

What struck me once and what I want to point out is:
we have an interaction between charges, but its result applies to masses. Why doesn't it apply to charges themselves? Why charge interaction is a force?

Let's suppose we have a particle with charge, but no mass: what would it happen then if it interacted with another particle of the same type? There would be an interaction, but it would apply to what?
(Ok, perhaps I know the answer: no particles with charge e no mass (for some very complex reason) can exist)

Physics news on Phys.org
Mr Wolf said:
I think this thing came to my mind some times after I studied Electromagnetism when I studied Physics; otherwise, I would have asked it to my professor. (Incidentally, I'm still studying and I'm involved in Electromagnetism, but for a totally different course :wideeyed:)