The Category Grp - Aluffi - Section 3.3 - basic question/clarification

• MHB
  • Thread starter Math Amateur
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Section
In summary, Aluffi discusses the category Grp, where the objects are groups and the morphisms are group homomorphisms. In Section 3.3, he introduces the function i_G: G -> G, defined as i(g) = g^-1, causing confusion for the reader. The author clarifies that the notation i_G and i are interchangeable and that the function only deals with inverses. The function is important because it preserves the identity and inverses, highlighting the "group-ness" of homomorphisms.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Paolo Aluffi's book, Algebra: Chapter 0.

I am studying Chapter II: Groups, first encounter. In Section 3 of this chapter, Aluffi deals with the category Grp in which the objects are groups and the morphisms are group homomorphisms.

Section 3,3, which is a pause for reflection, reads as follows:View attachment 2668

I am somewhat confused by the specific function described in that Aluffi writes:

\(\displaystyle i_G \: \ G \to G , \ \ i(g) := g^{-1} \).I have two rather simple questions:

1. Why do we have \(\displaystyle i_G \) in one place and \(\displaystyle i \) in the other - that is, shouldn't the above read \(\displaystyle i_G \: \ G \to G , \ \ i_G(g) := g^{-1} \)?

2. Aluffi mentions both the identity element and inverses, but the function he considers seems to only deal with inverses? What is going on?

I realize that these are pretty simple issues, but would appreciate someone clarifying the situation for me.

Peter

***EDIT*** I have been reflecting on the above and now feel, regarding question 2 above, that I misunderstood what Aluffi was saying - the function specified only referred to inverses.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
1. Yes. But the map $i$ and $m$ as well are defined the same way for all groups $G$, so no confusion should occur.