The beginning for time for beginners

In summary, the person is interested in learning about the beginning of time and is looking for literature recommendations. They have a Master's degree in Astrophysics and are unsure if there is any literature on the very beginning of time. They also mention a theory that time did not exist until there were electrons and photons, but are unsure of the validity of this theory. They suggest "The First Three Minutes" by Weinberg as a recommendation for early developments in the universe. They also mention the BICEP polarization studies on the cosmic background radiation as a topic of interest.
taylrl3
Hi,

Basically I would like to learn about the beginning of time and I am wondering what literature I should read surrounding this.

**For the record; I have a Master's degree from a top university in Astrophysics**

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
Not sure just what you are looking for. If you are interested in the very earliest developments in the universe, I suggest "The First Three Minutes" by Weinberg.

Do we know anything about the beginning of time? Shouldn't that title be "The First Three Minutes Except For The First Fraction of a Nanosecond"? GR suggest that time begins with the Big Bang, but GR breaks down at very small scales, i.e., during that first fraction of a Nanosecond. So there actually isn't *any* sensible literature about the beginning.

mal4mac said:
Do we know anything about the beginning of time?

no

Shouldn't that title be "The First Three Minutes Except For The First Fraction of a Nanosecond"?

yes

There is a theory that time itself did not exist until there were electrons and photons, but I'm not so sure about needing the electrons any more (because pairs of virtual photons can be produced without electrons) nor for that matter, , whether time actually exists for energy at all (because according to STR, time does not exist at the speed of light).