The ability to visualize abstract concepts

In summary, a third grade teacher from California is interested in the development of abstract visualization and asks for personal experiences and book recommendations that helped with this ability. One person mentions listening to and reading imaginative stories, while another shares their experience of being a navigator in a mock space station. The teacher is grateful for any helpful information.
GoGoGomez
Salutations everyone,

Thank you everyone in this community for taking the time to read my message. I am a third grade teacher in Moreno Valley, California USA. It is my conjecture as a third grade teacher that the encoding during reading in constructing meaning from words is similar to the visualization of abstract concepts in physics or quantum mechanics.
Now to the nature of my message and my question: what sparked and subsequently develops the ability to visualize abstract concepts?
For clarity: What sparked your interest in math and science as a child and subsequently developed into the ability to visualize abstract concepts as an adult?

GoGoGomez
Third grade teacher

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
GoGoGomez said:
Now to the nature of my post and my question: what sparked and subsequently developed the ability to visualize abstract concepts?
Listening to and Reading stories. Especially ones that require an imagination to follow.

AM

Thanks Andrew Mason for your comment.
What types of children stories helped you develop abstract visualization? Any genera in particular that helped? If anyone has a story book list in particular please share: specially a mathematical and/or physical science book from your childhood which fostered your abstract visualization. I want to think beyond the classroom textbook. Also, did anyone have a different experience in particular that facilitated abstract visualization such as museums, movies, and/or a story that helped?
Very grateful
GoGoGomez