Tetrad Formalism: Finding e^{a \mu}?

• Thread starter ngkamsengpeter
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tetrad
In summary: Thanks.In summary, the conversation discusses the use of tetrad formalism in general relativity and the meaning of e^{a \mu}. It is explained that e^{a}_{\mu} is a component of the tetrad basis and that e^{a \mu} is a diagonal matrix. It is suggested to raise the index using the metric tensor g^{\nu \mu} to find e^{a \mu}. The conversation also touches on finding a frame cobasis for a 4-velocity and provides a basic method for doing so.
ngkamsengpeter
I am new to tetrad formalism in general relativity. I understand that [itex]e^{a}_{\mu}[/itex] is the component of a tetrad basis but what is meaning of [itex]e^{a \mu}[/itex] and how do i find it? For example, [itex]e^{a}_{\mu}[/itex] is a diagonal matrix (a,b,c,d), how do I find [itex]e^{a \mu}[/itex]? Just raise the index using metric tensor [itex]g^{\nu \mu}[/itex]?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
There is a good explanation in section 5.8 of the attached notes.

Attachments

• grtetrad.pdf
    1 MB · Views: 1,062
Mentz114 said:
There is a good explanation in section 5.8 of the attached notes.
Thanks. Let see if I understand it correctly.

Let say my metric tensor [itex]g_{\mu \nu}[/itex] is a diagonal matrix (a^2,b^2,c^2,d^2) and we choose the tetrad [itex]e^{m}_{\mu}[/itex] as (a,b,c,d), then the [itex]\gamma_{mn}[/itex] is equal to (1,1,1,1) right? And we use this [itex]\gamma_{mn}[/itex] to raise and lower the tetrad indices m and n right?

Besides, if my metric tensor is not a diagonal matrix, is there a simple way to find the corresponding tetrad?

Thanks.

ngkamsengpeter said:
Thanks. Let see if I understand it correctly.