Tensor notation for vector product proofs

In summary, the conversation discusses using tensor notation to prove a vector equation without having to write out all the terms. The confusion arises when trying to assign indices for the cross product of two arbitrary vectors. It is clarified that the indices are arbitrary and can be re-arranged without introducing a negative sign. The conversation also briefly touches on finding the magnitude of a tensor product in vector notation.
skate_nerd
I am new to tensor notation, but have known how to work with vector calculus for a while now. I understand for the most part how the Levi-Civita and Kronecker Delta symbol work with Einstein summation convention. However there are a few things I'm iffy about.
For example, I have a problem where I am to prove
$$\vec{A}\bullet\vec{B}\times\vec{C} = \vec{B}\bullet\vec{C}\times\vec{A} = \vec{C}\bullet\vec{A}\times\vec{B}$$
using tensor notation to avoid having to write out all the terms.
So I know the very left side of this equation would look like
$$\vec{A}\bullet(\vec{B}\times\vec{C}) = A_i (\vec{B}\times\vec{C})_i = A_i \varepsilon_{ijk} B_j C_k$$
But then I get confused when trying to assign the indices for the next two parts of the equation.
Would the second part look like this:
$$\vec{B}\bullet(\vec{C}\times\vec{A}) = B_j (\vec{C}\times\vec{A})_j = B_j \varepsilon_{jkl} C_k A_i$$
Or would the indices of the epsilon be the same as for the first part (\(\varepsilon_{ijk}\))?
Same confusion goes for the first part. The reason I have this uncertainty in my mind is because I know with the triple vector product, you have to introduce 2 extra indices. So I guess my lack of complete understanding of these functions is leaving me confused with my problem. Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Physics news on Phys.org
skatenerd said: