Tension, FB diagrams and some formula questions.

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's frustration with their university's lack of helpfulness and their use of a physics book that they find difficult. They seek explanations for problems involving masses on pulleys and inclines, acceleration, and forces. They eventually figure out the solutions themselves but are still confused by the book's methods.
lozzajp
Ok this will be a long post, sorry in advance. I am an online student of a university and the help I am getting from them is ridiculous, I am also using a book called quicksmart introductory physics, and for the most part it is quite rubbish.

1st Problem: (not homework questions, I am trying to figure out the example and how it works)
http://postimage.org/image/wfk1kp6jx/ scan of the page

If you can see that scan of the page, great. It is about two masses on a pulley/string and one mass is on an incline. I can work out the acceleration of the separate masses (g for straight down, g x Sinθ for the incline) and that F=ma.

I am having trouble understanding how to get the resulting acceleration of the masses (I seem to have no trouble when it is a matter of two objects straight down on a string/pulley with different masses). As well as I can not figure out the Tension either.

I really need a simple explanation of how to do this process, as the book just goes from easy enough physics to all this overdrive in this example.

2nd Problem:
Short story, 2 mass on a pulley both directed at the ground. resulting in a 20kg mass accelerating towards the ground at 5.88m/s/s and has 2m to fall.

The acceleration part i worked out easy enough, but the time to calculate it to move those 2m i can't get it.

i used s=ut+0.5a(t^2)
rearranged it to get t^2 = 2.944/2
t = 1.21s

however this is apparently wrong and the book answers says a formula t^2 = 2s/a
t = 0.82s
where did this come from?