Teaching Yourself Quantum Mechanics and Prerequisites

In summary, you'll need to be familiar with some basic calculus and physics concepts, and ideally some knowledge of quantum mechanics itself.
bstubbz17
I know this question has been asked before, so please don't assume I didn't browse the archives. I just want some additional opinions. I have limited experience with quantum mechanics, so assuming that I'm starting from absolute scratch, what would be a good way to teach myself quantum mechanics? By this, I would also like included math prerequisites, science prerequisites...pretty mush a step by step guide to understanding quantum mechanics. All feedback is welcomed and appreciated. Thank you.

Oh, and within the archives someone said that you guys should have a sticky about this topic exactly, and I second the motion...just in case you feel like being an overachiever.

Physics news on Phys.org
bstubbz17 said:
I just want some additional opinions.

In addition to what? What opinions have you seen already? Knowing that might help us avoid simply repeating stuff that you've seen already.

I'm starting from absolute scratch

Does that mean you haven't studied any physics at all? How about math? Do you need to start with basic algebra?

Go read Feynman's PhD thesis, he outlines his method of doing QM, which is perfectly equivalent to the usual way of doing QM. In fact, it is his method that we usually extend to QED (and QFT? Not sure). =)

Hmm...self-study of quantum mechanics is a tricky issue. Sure, it's fun to talk about the philosophy of QM in laymen's terms. But to actually do real QM, you need some physical and mathematical understanding. What are we talking about when you say that you're starting "from scratch?" If you've never done classical physics, then studying QM would be pretty much impossible. If you've got a year of classical physics, you should be good to go.