Teaching Force Concept Problem

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of equal and opposite forces in Newton's third law and how it applies to a specific scenario with a car and truck. The main point to emphasize is that the action and reaction forces act on different objects and can result in different accelerations depending on the mass of the object. It is important to analyze all the forces acting on each individual body in order to understand its acceleration.
Dahaka
I am what is called an LA (Learning Assistant) for an introductory physics class and I'm a freshman. One problem in which I have in convincing the students is how forces are equal and opposite. For instance:
A large truck breaks down out on the road and receives a push back into the town by a small compact car as shown in the figure below.

While the car, still pushing the truck, is speeding up to get to cruising speed:
A. the amount of force with which the car pushes on the truck is equal to that with which the truck pushes back on the car.
B. the amount of force with which the car pushes on the truck is smaller than that with which the truck pushes back on the car.
C. the amount of force with which the car pushes on the truck is greater than that with which the truck pushes back on the car.

How do I explain the answer and concept to them? Every time I bring this up, they argue that Newton's Law of equal and opposite forces is violated because if they were to be equal and opposite, then the truck would not move.

Physics news on Phys.org
The equal and opposite force pairs in Newton's 3rd law act on different bodies. Thus they don't cancel out or produce equilibrium.

Doc Al said:
The equal and opposite force pairs in Newton's 3rd law act on different bodies. Thus they don't cancel out or produce equilibrium.

yep :approve: