Teaching Certificate While In School?

In summary: Certification and licensing generally requires passing a battery of tests, but your state determines which are needed. A bachelor's degree is currently a requirement for most teaching certificates, but some states have decreased this requirement in recent years. Private schools often don't have any restrictions on hiring, though certification is often viewed as a plus. In my experience, a research position in a professor's lab is usually more lucrative and looks better if you plan to go to graduate school. However, as a rising sophomore, your experience level is relatively low for either position.
yUNeeC
I am an upcoming college sophomore who is planning on double-majoring in math and physics. Currently, I have taken Calculus I, and have independently studied Calculus II and III, as well as some linear algebra. I seem to pick up math very easily, and break things down, learn the material inside out, and as a result I can relay information on a level most people can grasp. That, combined with fricken loving math has me wanting to find ways to make money off of it while attending school.

I come from an area where the education system is lacking. I also graduated from a private school where degrees aren't required to teach. Once I get my minor in math (or maybe even before) would it be possible for me to get a teaching certificate (or something) that will enable me to teach summer school possibly at one of the private schools in my area?

I figure that this would look good for grad school as well.

If this isn't feasible, would I have any other options?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Teaching certificates are a very local thing. Without knowing what state you live in (or even if you live in the US), it is impossible to tell you what is possible in your particular situation.