Taking years off: is a career still possible?

In summary, the conversation discussed the potential risks and challenges of pursuing a career in science, particularly with regards to job market competitiveness and the importance of a PhD in academia. The speaker's classmate shared their experience of leaving the field due to being overqualified and the potential limitations of having a PhD. The conversation also touched on the importance of gaining experience before pursuing higher education, and the speaker's personal interests in working in a research or engineering field, specifically in astronomy, physics, and chemistry.
D246ga
I'm studying at a trade school right now, to pursue a career not in the sciences. I'm also considering pursuing a degree(s) in a field of science later on, not just because of the additional job market, or the additional skills, but also because of a love and respect for the subjects, and a desire to contribute actively to them, in some small way.

In talking with one of my classmates, though, I was a little discouraged; he is a chemist, with a Ph.D. and years of experience in the field. I can't remember the specifics or the reasons, but he had taken a few years off of actively working in the field, and he found that, if he ever wanted to return, he would have to go back to the post-doctorate level (not exactly the most financially secure stage in a scientist's professional life cycle). So basically, he left the field entirely so he could still support his family.