Taking the reciproque of a partial derivative (as seen in thermodynamics)?

In summary, In thermodynamics, the equation \frac{1}{\frac{dX}{dY}} = \frac{dY}{dX} is always true and does not require any special conditions. This can be used to simplify calculations, such as finding \left(\frac{dV}{dT}\right)_P by first calculating \left(\frac{dT}{dV}\right)_P (which is easier) and then taking the reciprocal. However, it should be noted that the resulting derivative may be a function of a different variable, so some rearranging may still be necessary. In thermodynamics, state variables are viewed more as numbers or relations rather than functions, so there is no need to isolate variables when taking
nonequilibrium
Hello, I'm a first year physics student and in thermodynamics we always use [tex] \frac{1}{ \frac{dX}{dY} } = \frac{dY}{dX} [/tex] and I was wondering 'how true' this is, i.e. what are the conditions for this to be true? For example, if I have the equation of state of a Vanderwaals gas: [tex]\left( P + \frac{an^2^}{V^2^}\right) \left(V + bn \right) = nRT[/tex] and I want to find [tex]\left( \frac{dV}{dT} \right)_P[/tex], can I just calculate [tex]\left( \frac{dT}{dV} \right)_P[/tex] (which is much easier) and then take the reciproque?

(If not, is there another way?)

Thank you.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Yes, you can do that. But note that you won't simplify things as your derivative will be a function of V so it's not necessarily easier to rearrange it for a function of T (like the first derivative would be).

Oh, it is always true? That's nice :) I thought there could be a problem if your function isn't injective.

And I don't get what you mean by "not easier"? To differentiate V with respect to T, you have to isolate V, which seems pretty much impossible, yet on the other hand, if you can differentiate T with respect to V, T is already isolated and then you just differentiate with the product rule and you're done. (and then take the reciproque)