Take fall semester off to study for PGRE?

In summary, the conversation discusses the best time to study for the PGRE, with the suggestion of postponing the final semester to have more time for studying. However, it is recommended to focus on doing well in classes and consistently reviewing throughout the undergraduate years instead of cramming before the test.
jaydnul
So the way my schedule is looking, I will be finished after a fall semester. Now I want to do an REU during that summer leading into the fall, so I won't really be studying then, which is from what I understand, when most people do their studying for the PGRE. Would it be best to postpone my final semester for the spring, and just use the full fall semester to study for the PGRE?

Physics news on Phys.org
Sounds a bit overboard to me, but what do I know. I studied for and took the Physics GRE (and the regular one too) while taking my normal course load.

Please don't take this the wrong way, but based on your posting history, I think that you should be planning on spending as much time as you can studying for the GRE. You've got a way to go before you're ready for grad school.

Well that makes sense considering I am in freshman level physics courses. Goodness...just wondered if that would be a good game plan. I never specified when it would be

The PGRE is only offered in September, October, and April, so you could only realistically study for half of the (fall) semester (at best) if you wanted to take it in time to start grad school the following fall.

A better strategy would be to focus on doing really well in your classes, and consistently review. That way, you won't have to go on some study binge the summer or semester before the test.

If you have three or four years to go (and for heaven's sake, why didn't you mention that?) Stengah is right: focus on doing really well in your classes, and consistently review.

Related to Take fall semester off to study for PGRE?