Swimming Speed Tracking with Sensors | Kent Zhou

• Thread starter kentigens
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sensors
In summary, Kent Zhou is thinking about ways to track a swimmer's speed underwater using sensors. He has considered infrared, ultrasounds, and other methods, but is unsure of the best way to place the sensors. He is also interested in hearing other swimmer's ideas.
kentigens
Hi, I am a final year student whos doing engineering degree. My final year project involves tracking the speed of a swimmer inside a pool.
The current problem is that i don't have a good way of monitoring the swimmer's speed, which needs to be quite accurate(centimeters). Due to different stroke patterns and unregular shape of human body, it is very hard to find a way of getting the swimmer's speed during motion.

I've been thinking about infrared sensors, ultra sonic sensors and also other methods.
Is there any way of using sensors wisely and place them the right way so that i can accurately get the motion of the C.O.M. of the swimmer OR the mid-point of the body length?

Very appreciated for any suggestions or ideas.

Regards, Kent Zhou.

Engineering news on Phys.org
An overhead camera looking down on the swimmer measuring a target on the swimmer such as line or cross on the swimmer's back?

kentigens said:
Hi, I am a final year student whos doing engineering degree. My final year project involves tracking the speed of a swimmer inside a pool.
The current problem is that i don't have a good way of monitoring the swimmer's speed, which needs to be quite accurate(centimeters). Due to different stroke patterns and unregular shape of human body, it is very hard to find a way of getting the swimmer's speed during motion.

I've been thinking about infrared sensors, ultra sonic sensors and also other methods.
Is there any way of using sensors wisely and place them the right way so that i can accurately get the motion of the C.O.M. of the swimmer OR the mid-point of the body length?