Surface area of a truncated ellipsoid

In summary, a biology PhD student is looking for help calculating the surface area of an ellipsoid truncated parallel to the long axis. The flat surface of the truncated part is relatively easy to calculate using an ellipse formula, but the other part requires a more complex integral. The student received help from others and found a python script to estimate the surface area. They also modified the equation for a spherical cap to incorporate the radii of the base of the truncated ellipsoid. This modification may not be exact, but it should be close enough for the student's purposes.
Murphy24
Hi,

I'm a biology PhD student looking for some help on how to calculate (or estimate) the surface area of an ellipsoid truncated parallel to the long axis. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Murphy24

Mathematics news on Phys.org
You would probably use a double integral to solve this type of problem.

Murphy24 said:
Hi,

I'm a biology PhD student looking for some help on how to calculate (or estimate) the surface area of an ellipsoid truncated parallel to the long axis. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Murphy24

The flat surface of the truncated part is relatively easy. It is an ellipse with area A = pi*a * b where a and b are the two semi-diameters. (If a=b then you have a circle a=b=r and A=pi r^2).

The other part is a rather nasty integral, an elliptic integral without closed form solution (except to invent a new function whose value is that area).

There is a formula in terms of standard elliptic integrals and there is an approximation formula. Check out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ellipsoid" .

EDIT: Ahhh... that only gives the total ellipsoidal area. To get the truncated area or the area of the piece to subtract out. Let me see what I can come up with. Possibly I can work out a way to numerically estimate via software.

Last edited by a moderator: