Superconducting train principle

In summary, the Superconducting train uses a special superconducting coil and magnetic track to sustain a high electrical current and magnetic field at low temperatures. The liquid in the cup is nitrogen at -200 C. This technology is used in the Maglev train, which is explained further in a YouTube video and Wikipedia article.
Robcheese101
The SuperConducting Train

The Superconducting train principle, I've seen this video on Geekologie and then followed the link to Youtube. The thing is i don't understand the physics behind this, and would love for someone to be able to explain how its working, especially the contents of the liquid in the cup.

I am an A-Level physics student ( Waves & Pariticles ) And am very interested to know how this works, this would be mainly for me to better my own knowledge and maybe even try to recreate it on a larger scale.

Please and Thankyou :rolleyes:

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Robcheese101 said:
The SuperConducting Train

The Superconducting train principle, I've seen this video on Geekologie and then followed the link to Youtube. The thing is i don't understand the physics behind this, and would love for someone to be able to explain how its working, especially the contents of the liquid in the cup.

I am an A-Level physics student ( Waves & Pariticles ) And am very interested to know how this works, this would be mainly for me to better my own knowledge and maybe even try to recreate it on a larger scale.

Please and Thankyou :rolleyes:

The cup contains a special superconducting coil that is able to sustain a very high electrical current and corresponding magnetic field at low temperature (the liquid is nitrogen at about -200 C). The track is magnetic as well. That is as far as I can help you. There is a lot of technology in that cup. Have a look at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeS_U9qFg7Y&NR=1" for a better explanation.