Summer research program applications

In summary, when writing your essays for research program applications, be sure to showcase your qualifications, explain your interest in the program, and provide relevant examples from your experiences. It is also helpful to seek advice from individuals with previous experience in the programs. Good luck!
oyolasigmaz
Hi everyone--

I am an international student, a sophomore currently, and for the summer I am applying for a few research programs in the States. I am trying to write the short essays for the applications nowadays, where most of them ask about "why would you like to participate in this program/internship, and why would we choose you?" As I have understood from reading topics in this forum, I should show them my qualifications and lay down the reasons for them to choose me, but those topics were mostly about graduate applications. Is it the same for such summer applications? I think the situation is quite the similar, but as I am a sophomore, I don't think I have that much of qualifications yet to describe. Is there some general strategy that I should follow? Is it OK to tell a thing and then give an example about it from my life (such as "I am good at this, and this specific example serves the best to illustrate this situation")? Is there anyone here who have applied to those, or who have worked for those programs that can give me advice? Any advice/idea/comment on the topic is appreciated.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello there!

I can understand your dilemma and I am happy to offer some advice for your research program applications. Firstly, it is important to note that the same general strategy applies for both graduate and summer research program applications. Your essays should showcase your qualifications and highlight why you would be a valuable addition to the program.