Summer internship or summer job for Elect. Eng majors?

In summary, an electrical engineering major at a top state school recommends that if you want to keep the option of having a job open after getting your bs, you should do an internship instead of working in a research lab this summer. Knowing the technical side of the work is a starting point, but it's not enough. They're looking for someone who is sociable, easy to work with, and able to build consensus.
JeminaR
I am a current sophomore (just started soph year) Electrical engineering major at a top state school
So this last summer (end of frosh year) I worked in a research lab. I sort of want to go to grad school after my BS.

But, just in case grad school does not work out for me, I want to keep the option of having a job open. In that case, should I spend my next summer doing an internship rather than working in a research lab?

How important are internships for job applications?
Like, would having research experience be any use when applying for jobs?

Suggestions from other engineering majors who may have had this dilemma would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
When a company hires a new graduate, they are under no illusions that you have useful experience. You don't. Even a Master's degree doesn't confer all that much in a practical field such as engineering. However, listing your internships helps a great deal. It separates you from the pack of other graduates.

Not listing such experience would leave a prospective employer wondering if you have any work experience or work ethic at all, versus someone who does list such experience with goals, achievements, or skills learned.

Thus my short answer: List it, even if you think it is probably irrelevant.

1234 polite onme?

JakeBrodskyPE said:
When a company hires a new graduate, they are under no illusions that you have useful experience.