Suggested book on solid state physics?

In summary, there are many options for books on solid state physics, each with varying levels of difficulty and focus. Some popular choices are Ashcroft and Mermins, Blakemore, Omar, Ziman, Kaxiras, McKelvey, Chaikin and Lubensky, Harrison, Ibach and Lueth, Dekker, Sze, Cardona, Rosenberg, Burns, Bube, Pierret, Turton, Marder, Philips, and Phillips. However, some readers suggest that Marder's book is not actually introductory and Ashcroft and Mermin's is not a graduate level book.
mtrl
Hi everyone,

I am currently studying solid state physics from the book by Kittel(8th ed). But in this book, the chapters are like a summary of each topic and detailed explanations do not exist. While proving a formula, several steps are omitted and just the results are given. For this reason i am looking for another book. Can you suggest me any book on solid state physics in which explanations, formula proofs etc are given in a much more detailed way?

Physics news on Phys.org
Dear brother, I am also like you studying Solid State Physics from Kittel's book. There are a lot of things in this book that I am unable to understand.

So, I searched the internet for the best Solid State book. Doing that, I came up with the following books and the following readers' opinions regarding them:

-Ashcroft and Mermins "is the best graduate level book"

-Blakemore "is at the same level as Kittel and just as readable, Both Kittels' and Blakemores' books have much more about semiconductors."

-M. A. Omar, Elementary Solid State Physics: Principles and Applications "is the best for undergraduates because the QM requirements are light"

-Ziman , Principles of the Theory of Solids "So readable"

-Kaxiras, Atomic and Electronic Structure of Solids "its a computational Solid State physics book."