Studying math and physics as a predominantly visual learner

In summary, the speaker is a first-year Electrical Engineering student who is struggling to find the best studying methods for themselves. They enjoy circuit analysis but have had issues with their teacher's expectations and methods. They also excel in trigonometry but have difficulty with algebra. The speaker is seeking advice and solutions to improve their performance in their studies. They also discuss the importance of problem-solving methods and understanding the material, rather than just getting the correct answer.
Weightofananvil
Hey,
I'm in my first year of Electrical Engineering studies and finding a lot of common places in my studying and ways of approaching things that may be leaving me short. I really enjoy my circuit analysis class, I love learning the concepts, formulas and visualizing how they work in my head. I've gone to bed angry stumped with a concept and woke up with answers (its happened twice, but I have no idea how it happened.) I've been doing lots of research on learning styles and left vs right brained people and talked with my school councilling to try and find studying styles that work for me . I find some similarities and some differences with most articles but people are like snowflakes, right? Nothing will really be perfect until I hone in on it myself. My problem is this from the physics standpoint: Typically I learn from my textbook, I cannot pay attention to my teacher who writes example after example on the board. so I usually work on assignments throughout his class while peaking up occasionally. After I learn the concepts, I usually try a few practice problems and am able to get them. I just wrote a midterm and lost a terrible amount of marks because my work wasn't "what he expected, or showed in lectures" aka his 5 step process for thevenin theorem or steps for superposition. even though my answers were correct. I realize I do things my own way, because non of my fell