Struggling with first year college (maths/physics)

In summary: You might be able to get help from a tutor, or look into online resources.Staying in the class to avoid losing what you call the inscription fee might be a false economy -- getting a failing grade for the class. If your background in mathematics isn't where it needs to be, you're wasting your time taking the class. You might be able to get help from a tutor, or look into online resources.In summary, Stephen is a new student at college who is having difficulty with physics. He is looking for advice on how to catch up and improve his skills.
Paradox88
Hello comrades, I am a bit silly about this, but i started 1 month ago the first year at college (physics) after 10 years out of any academic course.
When i graduated from high school (a long time ago), i got good grades at pre-calc, but now I am having lots of problems because i feel lost and i can't do the exercises (i got university physics from young and tipler mosca books)
I don't have the sufficient knowledge to handle the problems in the books because of lack of problem solving skills and in major part maths. But I am very patient and I'm willing to do what is needed, i started to refresh my precalc with precalculus simmons, and basic mathematics from lang.
Im looking for some insights on how to handle this, for example which books you recommend to learn derivatives/integrals (im thinking about lang intro book on calculus or thomas calculus, or others) and how to apply it on physics course, also looking for a good book to grasp better solving skills, and i have curiosity if something like lectures on physics from Feynman can be a good idea for a first year i want to increase my inmersion in physics and grasp the concepts well i do it as a personal acomplishment a i don't want to fail since i couldn't study until now. Any sincere tips will be much apreciated.
Kind regards friends.

Physics news on Phys.org