Stressed about jobs with a physics degree for sciences jobs

In summary, the conversation revolves around the individual's interest in pursuing a degree in physics and their concerns about finding a job in the field without a PhD. They also discuss alternative careers in related fields and the value of obtaining a PhD for job opportunities. The individual expresses their passion for using physics, math, and programming to solve problems and their love for learning about physics. The conversation ends with a suggestion to aim for a PhD if they want to work as a scientist.
andreyw
Hi,

in two weeks, I am going to send my application to a university to get a degree in physics (I live in Europe
so it is going to last 5 years, 3 years for a bachelor's degree and 2 years for a master).

At the moment, I am a 27 years old software developer (I have a bachelor's degree in software development).

I love physics and maths (but not pure maths if that makes any sense, I love using maths to solve problems) and
I really would love to work in a scientific field when I graduate in 5 years.

The problem is that I am not sure I will want to get a PhD in physics, I honestly don't know what I will do when
I am 32 years old with a master's degree in condensed matter physics (assuming I reach my goal).

Unfortunately, the more I read about a degree in physics (without a PhD), the more I can see people talk about programming or finance.

I like programming but I want it to be a tool to solve problems and not just build software for the sake of getting a salary.

Will it really be hard to find a job in sciences with a master's degree in Condensed Matter Physics (that's what the university offers) ?
Will I be "forced" to get a PhD if I want to be sure to work in a physics related area ?

I could get an engineering degree instead but I don't particularly like building things so that's why I think engineering is not for me.