Strength Project Help for Civil Engineering Students

• Thread starter Colts
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Project
In summary, the speaker is a sophomore civil engineering student who needs to come up with a project for their strength of materials class. They initially thought of using self-consolidating concrete, but their professor advised against it due to their limited knowledge of concrete. The speaker is now looking for alternative ideas, such as using metal, which has more predictable behavior in compression, tensile, and deflection tests.
Colts
I'm a sophomore civil engineering student in strength of materials class and have to come up with a project. The project was take something and due a compression, tensile, deflection, etc. test. My first thought was to do something with self-consolidating concrete, which I heard about last summer at my internship, but don't know much about. I asked my professor and said since I haven't taken other civil classes it would be hard because I haven't learned enough about concrete yet, so I'm not sure what to do. Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you are a sophomore CE student, you should know the difference between 'due' and 'do'.

Instead of using concrete, how about something made of metal? Metals have fairly predictable behavior is such tests.

Related to Strength Project Help for Civil Engineering Students

1. What is Strength Project Help for Civil Engineering Students?

Strength Project Help for Civil Engineering Students is a program designed to assist students in understanding and applying principles of strength of materials and structural analysis in their civil engineering projects.

2. Who can benefit from Strength Project Help for Civil Engineering Students?

Any civil engineering student who is struggling with understanding or applying concepts of strength of materials and structural analysis can benefit from this program.