Help Distance between Mu Leporis & Nihal?

• Thread starter MonstersFromTheId
  • Start date
In summary: If you know that a star is on the main sequence, you can use its color temperature as an approximation to its effective temperature, and apply the mass-luminosity-radius relation inversely to get the star's luminosity.T / 5770K = M^(a/4 - b/2)L = M^a = (T/5770K)^{a / (a/4 - b/2) }L = (T/5770K)^{ 4 / [1 - 2b/a] }Typically, for stars having 0.8 to 2 solar masses...a = ~4.0b = ~0.72
MonstersFromTheId
"Dammit Jim! I'm a writer, not a stellar cartographer!"

Doin some homework for a SF story.
I badly need to know the approximate distance between Mu Leporis and Nihal.

Also useful:
Distance from Sol to Mu Lep, distance from Sol to Nihal, warnings about any known odd ball physical effects or interstellar objects between Mu Lep and Nihal that shouldn't be overlooked in a chapter covering a trip between those two stars.
My impression is that there's no reason to expect a trip between Nihal and Mu Lep would involve passing through any known physical obstacles, that left uncovered in such a story, could quickly get my :-) "undying prose" covered by the remains of a knowledgeable reader’s lunch

Tx in advance for any help...
Monsters

Astronomy news on Phys.org
MonstersFromTheId said:
"Dammit Jim! I'm a writer, not a stellar cartographer!"

Doin some homework for a SF story.
I badly need to know the approximate distance between Mu Leporis and Nihal.
About 26 lightyears
Also useful:
Distance from Sol to Mu Lep,
184 lightyears
distance from Sol to Nihal,
160 lightyears

Thanks Janus!
That's one very tough set of answers to try to did up if you don't know where to look. I really apriciate the help.

Janus said:
About 26 lightyears

184 lightyears

160 lightyears
Janus, would you mind giving us your sources, and/or a sketch of how you came up with these numbers?