Starting with Spivak - question

• Thread starter robjow
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Spivak
The domain is not -16 to π/3 + 1. It should be -18 to π/3 - 1.In summary, in the introduction to functions chapter of Spivak's calculus book, the function f(x) = x^2 is defined for all x such that -17 ≤ x ≤ π/3. The author then asserts that for the function defined above, f(x+1) = f(x) + 2x + 1 if -17 ≤ x ≤ (π/3) - 1. The person asking the question expresses confusion about the negative one at the end of the domain, but the author clarifies that the graph of y = f(x+1) is a parabola
robjow
Hey, I'm just starting out with calculus and am giving the Spivak book a try per threads on here. In the introduction to functions chapter spivak defines a function f(x) =x^2. for all x such that -17 ≤ x ≤ π/3
Then says you should be able to check the following assertion about the function defined above:

f(x+1) = f(x) + 2x + 1 if -17 ≤ x ≤ (π/3) - 1

I don't understand why there a negative one is now needed at the end of the domain

Mathematics news on Phys.org
-18 ≤ x ≤ (π/3) - 1 is the domain of f(x+1)
-17 ≤ x ≤ (π/3) is the domain of f(x)
-17 ≤ x ≤ (π/3) - 1 is the domain the two share

edit:to correct error

Last edited:
thanks for your reply,

That doesn't make sense to me.

My incorrect thinking goes like this..

What is f(x+1) actually saying? To me its saying: apply the function f (which is to square) to the domain x (defined above) +1..making the domain of f(x+1) -16 to π/3 + 1

Shouldn't the domain of f(x+1) be -18 ≤ x ≤ (π/3) - 1??

robjow said:
That doesn't make sense to me.

My incorrect thinking goes like this..

What is f(x+1) actually saying? To me its saying: apply the function f (which is to square) to the domain x (defined above) +1..making the domain of f(x+1) -16 to π/3 + 1