Lorentz transform and muon half-life, Help, please

In summary, the time-dilation formula is derived by assuming that the velocity of the moving reference frame is zero. If the velocity is nonzero, then the terms vx/c^2 and sqrt(1-(v/c)^2) will be present, but they will be dropped from the final result because they will cancel out.
robert Ihnot
I am new to this matter, but I was reading a problem about how as the muon travels at .98c, that it's half life is increased by an approximate factor of 5.

What I have trouble with is when using the Lorentz transform, why time dilation is calculated in the moving system at the same X and V so that the term VX/C^2 goes out, giving us a simple form, when it would seem that if the muon was going at .98 speed of light that it would move through space.

Thus, how do you keep these things straight, and get these simple results? Thank you, bob

Physics news on Phys.org
Perhaps I do not understand the question. Yes, of course, if a muon is traveling at .98 the speed of light it is would move through space- very fast! Time dilation is NOT calculated "in the moving system" since, if it were, v would be 0 and there would be no time dilation. if v= .98 c then v2/c2= .982= .9604 so 1/√(1- v2/c2)= 5 approximately. What "simple result" are you talking about?

You are transforming to a spacetime frame of reference in which the muon is at rest. This means you are comparing improper time (a physical moving clock) to proper time (a stationary clock). In that reference frame, X' remains constant.

I meant the Lorentz transorm

HallsofIvy said:
Perhaps I do not understand the question. Yes, of course, if a muon is traveling at .98 the speed of light it is would move through space- very fast! Time dilation is NOT calculated "in the moving system" since, if it were, v would be 0 and there would be no time dilation. if v= .98 c then v2/c2= .982= .9604 so 1/√(1- v2/c2)= 5 approximately. What "simple result" are you talking about?