Springboard physics questions for diving coach at YMCA

In summary, the diving coach at the local YMCA wants to give a lesson on diving off the board with maximum efficiency. The diving board with an adjustable fulcrum is used, and according to the diving coach's analysis, the torque on the fulcrum is maximized when the fulcrum is positioned in the middle of the board. Practical experience tells the diving coach that the position of the fulcrum changes the stiffness of the board, and that Hooke's law can be applied to model this. The stiffness of the board also affects the force necessary to displace the free end of the diving board, and the amount of energy stored in the board is determined by the equation Euler-
HighFlyer
I'm a diving coach at the local YMCA and I want to give a lesson regarding the physics of diving off the board with maximum efficiency. This is the type of diving board with an adjustable fulcrum, basically a lever with one end fixed with bolts. Its been almost 15 years since I've taken a physics course. I've been able to refresh my knowledge of the torque at various point of the board (at the fixed end, at the free end, at the fulcrum) and according to my analysis, when the fulcrum is positioned at the midpoint of the diving board the torque on the fulcrum is maximized.