Spring scale- confusing me help

No.The 5 m/s² is the acceleration of the scale + stone (because the scale is holding them up). So what's the mass of the system? (Hint: It's the sum of the masses of the stone and the scale.)Once you know the mass and acceleration of the stone, you can find the net force on it. Then you can find the upward force on it. And that's the force that the scale must read. In summary, the key to solving these problems is to carefully analyze all the forces acting on the system and use Newton's laws of motion to determine the net force and acceleration. From there, you can find the force that the scale must read. Keep practicing
matthew77ask
Hi

firstly Thanks for the help...
I am not very good at forces ... and spring balances etc...

Q1 A 10N force is pulling up on the ring of spring scale that weighs 2N. If an 8N mass is attached to the bottom hook of the scale, what is the scale reading?

I figure that the mass of the spring is not relevant - hence the answer should be 10+8 = 18N. But the answer is 8N !

Hence I can't solve the next one also:
Similar as Q1 above but this time ithe force pulling up the ring of the spring scale is 5N instead...

I am really confuse about these. please help...

Physics news on Phys.org
matthew77ask said:
Q1 A 10N force is pulling up on the ring of spring scale that weighs 2N. If an 8N mass is attached to the bottom hook of the scale, what is the scale reading?

I figure that the mass of the spring is not relevant - hence the answer should be 10+8 = 18N. But the answer is 8N !