Spring - Pulley - Mass system. Proving omega is a certain value

In summary, the student is seeking help with a physics problem involving a block attached to a spring and pulley system. They have attempted to use conservation of energy and Newton's second law to solve for the angular frequency of oscillation but have not been successful. They are looking for hints and suggestions to help them solve the problem.
Anavra

Homework Statement

Hello, everyone. I am a starting physics student. I know a little bit of calculus and mechanics. I have been solving a lot of problems successfully, but I come back to being stuck on this one. I will show you what I have done and I hope you can be kind enough to give me a general hint, I would really appreciate it. Am I doing something really wrong? I've been going around for days.

THANKS!

So here it goes:

A block of mass m is attached to a vertical spring by a rope hanging over a pulley (I = 1/2 MR2). The pulley has a mass M and a radius R. The rope does not slip and does not stretch.

Show that the angular frequency of oscillation is ω = [itex]\frac{2k}{M+m}[/itex]

It was accompanied by a drawing that looks like this.

GMkWaXO.png

Homework Equations

Conservation of mechanical energy.
Total Energy at position A = Total Energy at position B = E (constant)

Potential Elastic Energy = 1/2ky2
Potential Gravitational Energy = mgy

Kinetic Translational Energy = 1/2mv2
Kinetic Rotational Energy = 1/2 Iω2

v = ωR

Newton's second law
F = ma
τ = Iα = rxF

The Attempt at a Solution

BdSd0E9.png

Total Energy of Position A (As shown in picture)

E = 1/2ky2 + mgh + 1/2 mv2 + 1/2 Iω2
E = 1/2ky2 + mgh + 1/2 mv2 + 1/2 I (v2/R2)
E = 1/2ky2 + mgh + 1/2 mv2 + 1/4 MR2 (v2/R2)
E = 1/2ky2 + mgh + 1/2 mv2 + 1/4 Mv2
E = 1/2ky2 + mgh + (1/2 m + 1/4 M)v2