Spring GRE, Fall admissions. Will I get my scores in time?

In summary: If I wanted to change my focus midway through the program I think it would be much more difficult.You can change your focus, but it will be more difficult.
bhimberg
So I'm studying for the physics GRE and plan on taking it this April. While I understand the deadline for admissions to most universities is right up until the semester begins, I also understand it is a first come, first serve deal.

Are most slots going to be filled by May, when the scores are available by phone? I believe it is possible to apply without GRE scores however my GPA is low and I have little research experience (my name is on one paper, last place).

Am I right to assume that an excellent GRE score will offset my low GPA, and that I will likely have to settle for Spring enrollment since most slots will be filled by May? I'm going by the dates on this site: http://www.ets.org/gre/subject/register/centers_dates.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hard to say. I'd take the time out and individually email each school you're interested in. Some schools are extremely anal about this, others not so much.

bhimberg said:
So While I understand the deadline for admissions to most universities is right up until the semester begins,

You misunderstood. Deadlines are usually in January. (mangled quote deleted)

bhimberg said:
Am I right to assume that an excellent GRE score will offset my low GPA

It will help, but the degree of the offsetting depends on how excellent is excellent and how low is low.

bhimberg said:
I will likely have to settle for Spring enrollment

In Physics grad school there is almost no such thing. Maybe one or two places have it, but it is an exception.

Last edited:
Thanks Zina, Vanadium.

Re: Vanadium