Some questions on terminology (for native English speakers)

In summary, this person is looking for English terms for currents that do not change in intensity, but do change in direction. They find several word combinations, which may or may not be the right terms. There is no authoritative source in English that they can quote when discussing these terms with their compatriots.
vopros217
Hello! I am a beginner in English terminology.
I know that direct current is a flow of electricity that moves in one direction only (i.e. does not change its direction).
I also know that alternating current is an electric current that reverses direction at regular intervals.

However, I cannot find in my dictionaries the proper English terms for:
1) a DC current, which does not change its intensity at all,
2) a current, which does change its intensity, but not necessarily its direction (that is, the general term for AC, pulsating DC, DC smoothly petering out etc.)

I find several word combinations, which may or may not be the right terms:
1) steady current, constant current, time-independent current, stationary current;
2) time-dependent current, time-varying current, variable current.

Which are the standard (conventional) terms, OK but awkward terms and wrong (misleading) terms?
Is there any authoritative source in English (a textbook, an encyclopedia, a standard etc.) which I can quote when discussing these terms with my compatriots?

If you don't know the standard names, what do YOU call these currents?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
1) a DC current, which does not change its intensity at all,[/quote]
this is called a steady or constant current. It is given a capitol I for it's symbol.

2) a current, which does change its intensity, but not necessarily its direction (that is, the general term for AC, pulsating DC, DC smoothly petering out etc.)
this is called a varying current. It is given a lower case i of i(t) to show it changes with time.