Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Some basic questions on Graph theory!

Mathelogician

Aug 6, 2012
Hello everybody!
I am a real amateur in Combinatorics. So please answer in the most basic way!

=============================================

1- Suppose for a graph G we have Delta=max(deg Vi : 1<=i<=n).
If Delta<=2, prove that the graph G is made up of Paths and Cycles.

2- Suppose G is a graph of size m > (n*sqrt(n-1))/2. Prove that G has a Cycle with length of 3 or 4.

3- How many graphs of order n do exists that are not isomorphic?

4- For an arbitrary graph G show that there exists a weighted bipartite sub-graph H such that:
for all v in V(G), deg H (v)>= (deg G (v))/2.

5- Suppose that G is a graph of size m>=1. Show that G has at least 2 vertices that are not cut vertex.

===============================================

Regards.

caffeinemachine

MHB Math Scholar
Mar 10, 2012
Hello everybody!

2- Suppose G is a graph of size m > (n*sqrt(n-1))/2. Prove that G has a Cycle with length of 3 or 4.

4- For an arbitrary graph G show that there exists a weighted bipartite sub-graph H such that:

5- Suppose that G is a graph of size m>=1. Show that G has at least 2 vertices that are not cut vertex.

Regards.
Hello Mathelogician.
I can help you on a few of these.

For the first one induction on the order of $G$ can be used. There are two cases.
Case 1: There exists a cycle, say $C$, in $G$. Show that $C$ is actually a component. Delete $C$ to form $H=G-C$. Note that $H$ again satisfies $\Delta(H)\leq 2$ and has order strictly less that order of $G$. Induction sets in. Don't forget to show the base case.
Case 2: There are no cycles in $G$. Then Take any maximal path $P$ in $G$ and show that this is a component of $G$. Rest is same as in case 1.

For the third one see How many different possible simply graphs are there with vertex set V of n elements - MathOverflow