Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Some advice is needed

ZaidAlyafey

MHB Math Helper
Jan 17, 2013
I am a sophomore student at university and decided to take a major in Computer Science. I just read about Mathematics as a self-study. For the most part I am interested in special functions ( especially digamma and zeta functions) also I like integral transforms. I read a lot about mathematics but the problem is when I read about a certain subject I realize that I am missing something so I go and read about it which might take me weeks to fully understand it then come back to the original topic again. Originally at university I only have been taught basic calculus and multi-variable calculus. I decided recently to go deep in understanding the zeros of zeta function and its analyticity as I have a background in complex analysis. My question is can I continue like that or should I take a major in mathematics ? The topics I read about are ( special functions , differential equations , linear algebra , complex analysis , real analysis , Fourier series and transform , Laplace transform )
What else should I read about to fully understand the zeta function and its zeros ?

mathbalarka

MHB Math Helper
Mar 22, 2013
ZaidAlyafey said:
What else should I read about to fully understand the zeta function and its zeros ?
You have to have a background in Complex Analysis to learn about zeta. I don't know how much have you learned so I can't tell whether you need to learn more or not. After CA, you must learn a little basics on ring theory and field theory since algebraic number theory should be learned when you are going towards zeta. Analytic number theory is the last and the most important tool for zeta.

In other words, you have to learn Number Theory in order to understand zeta.