Solving the Schrödinger Equation for a Step Potential

In summary, the Schrodinger equation for a step potential shows that a particle can exist in a region where his energy is lower than the potential energy governing the region (although the wave-function is exponentially decaying), and it even can penetrate a finite potential step, which is known as the Tunnel Effect. The transmitted wavefunction does vanish at infinity, doesn't it? Not precisely .. for a step function the correct term in barrier penetration; tunneling requires that there be a classically allowed region on the other side of the potential barrier. So, the transmission coefficient is in fact 0 for E<V, in the case of a step function. However, the phenomenon
laharl88
Hi everybody! I'm studying the simple case of the solution of the Schrodinger equation for a step potential "[URL .[/URL] As my professor states , the transmission coefficient is 0 when the energy of the particle is E<V.
I really don't get how this result is not a contradiction with the fact that the wave function is not 0 for x>0

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
That's confusing for me too, because your professor's statement is true only classically. Perhaps he was talking about the classic case.

Anyway, quantum mechanics (that is, Schroedinger's Equation) shows that a particle can exist in a region where his energy is lower than the potential energy governing the region (although the wave-function is exponentially decaying), and it even can penetrate a finite potential step, which is known as the Tunnel Effect.

The transmitted wavefunction does vanish at infinity, doesn't it?
So there is no free outgoing wave.

elibj123 said:
That's confusing for me too, because your professor's statement is true only classically. Perhaps he was talking about the classic case.