Solving the Mystery of 1+2+3+4+... = -1/12

• Thread starter mario0815
  • Start date
In summary, a mathematician discovered that the sum of all natural numbers, 1+2+3+4+..., might in fact be -1/12. This was surprising because it is the same thing as claiming that 5.5 factorial (which is undefined) is actually Gamma(6.5) or that the sum of all powers of 2 is -1 (the geometric series sum x^n where n goes from 0 to infinity is only defined if -1<x<1 but it has the analytic continuation 1/(1-x) which is -1 for x=2). This result is allegedly used in string theory to compute the Casimir effect.
mario0815
Hello everybody!

I'm actually a mathematician but occasionally I read stuff on quantum physics for fun and a few days ago I read something that really surprised me. Since then I was trying to get an idea about the actual mathematics behind my discovery but couldn't. So here I am hoping that some quantum physics expert can show me the actual calculations or at least point me in the right direction! About my question: