Solving Ten-Pin Bowling Physics with Proportional Signs

In summary: So the mass becomes m(1+0.2)=1.2m?In summary, the conversation is about a novice ten-pin bowler struggling with calculating the components, maximum height, time flight, and distance traveled by a lofted ball. They also discuss how to calculate these values if the ball was 20% heavier, focusing on representing the decrease in acceleration mathematically and calculating the new initial velocity and time to reach maximum height.
moobs93
i know this is really simple, but I'm not very good at working with proportional signs..

a novice ten-pin bowler, slightly "lofts" the ball (releases it too late and lifts it into the air so that it crashes to the ground. If the ball was released with a velocity of 3.5 m/s at an angle of 15 degrees above the horizontal, calculate:

a) the x and y components
b) the maximum height achieved by the ball
c) the time flight of the ball
d) how far down the lane the ball lands, measured from the release point
e) all of the above again, if the ball was 20% heavier

so i got the (a)-(d) taking the original mass as m. and started (e) by assuming the second mass would be (m+0.2m) and that the force applied by the bowler on the ball, would remain constant so the acceleration would change in proportion to the mass change of an additional 20%

my first question is; how do you represent the decrease in acceleration mathematically?
using F=ma, where m is now m(1+0.2)
my belly-flop attempt:
F=ma
a=K/m (where K is the constant force)
so mass is inversely proportional to the acceleration
does that mean the new acceleration is a(1-0.2) or am i completely off it?

and my second question is, how do you calculate the new initial velocity from the new acceleration? or rather, how do you calculate the time it takes to reach the maximum height (highest vertical displacement) using the new value for accleration? which i can then use to solve for the new initial velocity