Solving Issue with My Director in University Physics

• Thread starter paalfis
  • Start date
  • Tags
    professor
In summary: You should also focus on your own studies and research projects, as well as seeking out other mentors and opportunities in the field. Keep an open and positive attitude and don't let this one setback discourage you from pursuing your interests and goals. In summary, the speaker has been studying and working under an esteemed professor in the field of cognition, but is finding that the professor is not treating them as a student anymore and not offering any new projects or challenges. The speaker is considering dropping the course and discussing their concerns with the professor, but is unsure of what to do. The expert suggests that the professor may view the speaker as a threat or may not appreciate their attitude, and advises the speaker to have an honest conversation with the professor to clarify the
paalfis
I am in third year of University Physics, and I have been particularly interested in models of cognition for two years. I was studying and working as an assistant of an eminence in the area during the last 6 months, who, after seeing I was so interested (I was the only student interested), 'took me under his wing'. I have learned a lot with him and this year I was ready to start something bigger.
Anyway, my director was choosed as a professor in a subject I am interested. Obviously, I started his course as a student (although I suggested to be an assistant, and he rejected it, he choosed one of him collegues). After some weeks, he started treating me as any other student, no more meetings with other great scientists, no more seminars, no more cool projects or challenges; and definately nothing of that 'something bigger' I was waiting for. I have asked him about new projects in his lab, and everytime he have said 'we can discuss this in class'.